Skip to content


Free Shipping over $99 in the USA!

Contact Us

What are the differnt categories of darkness for sunglass lenses?

Sunglasses lenses are categorized based on how much visible light they transmit. Category 1 lenses let through the most light, while Category 4 lenses let through the least light. Category 2-4 lenses are therefore medium to dark lenses that are suitable for a variety of lighting conditions, including bright sunlight.

Here are some examples of Category 2-4 sunglasses lenses:

  • Category 2: Amber, rose, red, orange, and light brown lenses
  • Category 3: Standard gray and brown lenses
  • Category 4: Dark gray and brown lenses

Some popular sunglasses brands that offer Category 2-4 lenses include:

When choosing sunglasses lenses, it is important to consider the activities you will be using them for and the lighting conditions you will be exposed to. The most common Catagory is 3 for sunglasses. If you are unsure which category of lenses is right for you, consult with an eye care professional here at Heavyglare Eyewear.